Byron Music Society Concert


Sunday 3 April at 3 pm at Byron Bay Community Centre

This very special concert commemorates the 20th birthday of Byron Music Society.

Renowned virtuoso Soloists David Pereira, Cello and Alice Giles, Harp have put together an inspired program which will be especially pleasing to experience in our intimate Byron Community Centre auditorium.


David Pereira : A versatile cellist
During the last thirty years David has established himself as an outstandingly versatile cellist with appointments to top professional positions. He was for eleven years cellist of the Australia Ensemble (resident at the UNSW), for seven years Principal Cellist of the Australian Chamber Orchestra and for three years Principal Cello with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.
Other associates in performance have included:

The Seymour Group
The String Soloists of the Berlin Philharmonic
Felix Ayo
The Chilingirian Quartet
Roger Woodward
The Australian String Quartet
The Goldner Quartet
The Sydney String Quartet

Alice Giles – “The most intelligent, sensitive and technically accomplished harpist I have ever met.”
– Composer Luciano Berio

Alice Giles has been acclaimed as one of the world’s leading harp soloists. The Australian-born musician first attracted international notice when she won First Prize in the 8th Israel International Harp Contest at the age of 21. Since then she has performed extensively in recital and with orchestras in Europe, America, Australia, and Israel. She presented her first solo recital at the age of 13 at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, was awarded the coveted Churchill International Fellowship and an Australia Council Grant to study in the USA and made her New York debut recital at Merkin Hall in 1983. Her teachers include June Loney, Alice Chalifoux and Judith Liber.

She was regarded by Luciano Berio as the foremost interpreter of his Sequenza II, and she has taken part in tributes to Berio at the Queen Elizabeth Hall London, Salzburg Mozarteum, and at the 92nd Street Y in New York to honour his 70th birthday. She has given many premiere performances for her instrument and has recently commissioned a complete program of new works for the electro-acoustic harp.

The Concert Program
Ortiz – Recercadas Bach – Sarabande, Bourrees and Gigue from Suite in C major for solo cello Sitsky – ‘Nigun’ for solo cello Salzedo – Ballade (solo harp)


David Pereira – Lullaby for Yvana Kats-Chernin – Eliza Aria (from her ballet Wild Swans) DeFalla – Nana Part – Spiegel im Spiegel Kikta Saint-Saens – The Swan
The artists also expect to include an early work by the legendary Indian sitarist and composer, Ravi Shankar.

For further information visit;